Far From Perfection

382b7d0bef2cdf6ecc88633ec2b64644

I once read in an article that said…

Perfection is the enemy. Therefore you will never reach perfection.

Not only is that statement above true in so many forms, that I myself have a difficult time embracing the fact that I will never be perfect. Literally to the point where it bothers me, and so I become determined reaching perfection. When the whole time it’s far from my reach, and that I must realize that perfection can become my own enemy if I am not careful.

Believe it or not, you’re already perfect. After all God is the one who created you, and that is what makes you unique. Yeah I understand that we don’t always have it together, and that we make mistakes on a daily basis. But we shouldn’t let those type of things define how God sees us, because to Him we are worthy. He sees us worthy. The problem is we don’t see ourselves worthy, and so we become hard on ourselves. We beat ourselves up over the littlest things that mess us up spiritually and physically. There are these moments in our lives where we find ourselves doubting God, and losing our faith all because we can’t seem to stop messing up…in other words, we can’t seem to stop committing sin. Sometimes it’s the type of sin that we keep committing over and over again, and we become so lost. Thinking why or how could God keep loving me, even when I constantly fail Him. Why me? Why do you choose to love someone as messed up as me?

Remember what I said in my last post? He uses the weak to lead the strong. He chooses you everyday, regardless of your current circumstances.

I used to find myself at the altar every Sunday morning crying about the same thing I cried about last week Sunday. I grew tired, and at the same time I began to think that God must be getting tired of me as well. If there is one thing I’ve learned, it’s that God never walks away from you…we walk away from Him. He holds us when we can no longer stand on our own, telling us that it’s ok. I allowed my brokenness to help me understand what God was trying to do in my life, and to try to understand as to why I kept going back to that same old thing that knocked me down every time. My dad always says “It takes many lessons to learn a lesson”, which I believe God allows us to go through a certain situation over and over again until we learn from it. He perfects us in our own tribulations, which can be quite hard to see when we feel like nothing but a failure at times.

In Psalms 46:5 says…

God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early.

God is in the midst of her…God is with us constantly. There is comfort in His arms, and direction. Keep on fighting the good fight, and please stop trying to perfect what cannot be perfected. Stop beating yourself up, and instead come as you are. God sees your brokenness as the most beautiful thing in the world, He sees it as an opportunity to come into your heart.

Last scripture…Psalms 18:32 says…

It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect.

Leave a Reply

