Rising From The Rubble

a0cede8cc7b8ea41050b4f06b1e595a4

Matthew 14:29-31

And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to jesus. But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying Lord, save me. And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

I’ve strayed from God.

At this very moment in my life I am struggling not only with myself…but trying to get back up from the mess I made. I have become bound by the addictions that I put more energy into covering up rather than bringing it to God. Which tells me that my foundation that I thought was so strong…was weak this whole time. I still lack prayer, my church attendance has gone wayward. Now I’m not looking for any sympathy here, I’m looking in hopes of anyone of you being able to relate. To know that you’re not the only person who is struggling with life, yourself, and whatever else maybe troubling you.

How do we act under such circumstances?

The other day while I was at work, my co-worker turned toward me and asked “why do people do what they do?”. I wasn’t sure how to respond at first, and then shortly after she said “I believe things are going to get much worst before they get better”. This discussion was related to the shootings that took place December 2nd, 2015 in San Bernardino, California.

I then came to the conclusion that she was absolutely right, how thing’s must get worst before they get better. Sometimes it takes the worst situations to wake us up and realize what is going on, and the changes that we must make in order to get to that better place. I’ve learned to praise God even in my own personnel hell, because I know He is the only one who is more than able to save me and pull me up from the mess I made. I find myself struggling over and over again, and each time I feel like a broken record player. My sin has become repetitive in my life, which tells me I have a serious problem that I have ignored for quite sometime. But that’s the thing, it’s when we have to face the problem that we turn away hoping it disappears.

The first step is admitting that there is a problem, and secondly that at some point we must come face to face with that problem. I know have walked away from God, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that I’ve stopped believing. I just got lost. We all get lost, and that’s okay. The people in the wilderness wondered for 40 years, and even after entering into the promise land they were still never fully satisfied. God told Joshua that even after the people entered into the promise land, that they would soon turn away from God and begin to worship other gods. God would then burn with anger and bring many disaster upon the people. We are the Israelites, but have gotten much worst since then.

We live in a country that no longer fears God, and have decided that we don’t even need Him. But we do! We need Him everyday of every hour, and even in our distresses He is with us…He stands with us even when we are weak. The choice to walk away and do as we please is really up to us, and it’s also up to us to stand firm in what we believe in. We live in corruption, we are consumed by what we see, feel, and hear all around us. The world has nothing good to offer us. Everything that is happening is part of His plans, and if we aren’t part of His plans…well then we are to blame no one but ourselves. I don’t blame anyone for my actions, and I most certainly don’t blame the one who has given me the freedom to choose what I want from this life.

I will rise from whatever it is I’m personally going through, and so will you. Be strong, keep the faith, and keep fighting.

Leave a Reply

