Becoming Who We Are

d3adc7c9fbfad2858a18350660b8c54aIt’s not easy for some to know who they’re meant to be in life. It takes time, and growth to learn where we stand in this world. People can be cruel, and harsh with their words that we let them shape and mold us into something we don’t even like. Some of us are bitter, angry, sad, depressed, alone, and there are some who are just happy as they will ever be.

The picture I have inserted for this post I have read over, and over again. The one word that really stood out to me was “Courage“. So I had to look up what the definition of “Courage” was, and there are two definitions that speak volumes for me. The 1st one…

The ability to do something that frightens one.

And the 2nd one…

Strength in the face of pain or grief.

The first definition would suit this blog post very well, so well to the point where I could just end this post right here if I really wanted to. But I have a point to make. Some of us spend a lifetime searching for our calling, and even if we feel like were at a right place in our lives. We still question whether or not if this is where we’re truly meant to be. We will never find satisfaction in this world, the world is always changing which involves us to change with it. Some of us are forced to not talk about our beliefs, or anything like that. It takes courage to stand up for what you believe in, but society has this way of making us feel like we’re the enemy, and that if we don’t change we’ll never be liked. I don’t believe in wearing makeup, jeans, piercings, or the cutting of a girl’s hair. Some might argue with me to as in why I don’t believe in such things, but to be completely honest with you here I just don’t.

Being pentecostal is not a job, nor is it hard to live holy. I’m just like any other person, I struggle, I bleed, and even though I still have problems doesn’t dismiss the fact that I am not happy. I am happy because I know the truth, Jesus offers us mercy because He know’s us all too well. There was a time in my life where I did rebel, but only for a season. I had this mentality that if I were to dress like the world, act like the world, that I would finally be accepted. The problem was that instead of feeling accepted, I only felt conviction. To make a long story short, it takes a lot of courage to grow up. It’s not the easiest thing in the world, because with courage comes great fear of the unknown. What’s going to happen if I take the stand? Will they finally like me? Will they be pleased with me? Will they see me differently?

Some of us are still in the process of trying to find ourselves, but remember that you don’t have to have it all together to find where you’re supposed to be in life. Trust that God has something good in store waiting for you, despite the decisions you’ve made in life already. Don’t let anything hinder you from becoming what God has called you to be, and let Him lead you when you no longer want to be the leader. Trust me on that last part, I’ve been there. Like that one quote that says “don’t just go through life, but grow through life” or something like that.

Until next time, have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

