Being A Light In The Darkness

3c2e351a045e6baaf579a04a43060b8dHave you ever had someone come up to you and ask why is that you’re so happy all the time?

I was asked this very question sometime ago from a co-worker. My response was that I choose to be happy despite my circumstances. I am human, I have my moments of where I am angry, frustrated, and sad. There are times where I have to take a step back and realize that I could be in a worse disposition. I don’t believe that a person can be happy 24/7, or even their whole life. We go through thing’s that cause us to experience different emotions that are sometimes are out of our control.

When people see me, and they get to know me, they believe that I am incapable of doing anything bad/wrong. It’s just that I let people see the outer surface of who I’m supposed to be, not who I really am. Not that I am a mean or arrogant person, it’s just they’ve never seen me have a rough day. I pray that when people meet me that they see the light within, a light that I hope will draw them closer to Jesus. When I lay everything down in His hands, he opens doors that give me the opportunity to witness to people. Sometimes He places us in a dark place where all we can do is shine, and we may not even know that where we’re at is where we’re truly meant to be. In Matthew 5:14 says…

Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid.

The quote I have inserted at the very top is one I found on Pinterest of course, but it’s the last part of the quote that stands out to me…

Turn towards grace, and you turn on all the lights.

If we would just stop beating ourselves up, and accept that God has a purpose for us. We would no longer be in darkness, demons would no longer have us bound, and it’s all because we’ve finally let our lights shine. We all have scars that tell a story, a story that someone else may need to hear. People are thirsty for the truth, and we should be the one’s to help them, pray for them, and let them know that they are not alone. Believe it or not the peopleΒ whom you meet are not by accident, people cross our paths looking for that hope that we know very well of. God uses the weak to lead the strong, and with that we should no longer be fearful of the darkness which lies ahead.

Don’t ever let anyone belittle what it is you have to say, because you know the truth. The Bible is your lamp, never use it to destroy someone or prove someone wrong.Β We are not to be the kind of flame that destroys those around us like a wildfire would, we are to help those who are lost in darkness. Our love should be a comfort for those who know no such thing, our light should be something they’ve never seen before, but want it so bad that they’ll make it obvious. We are the light of the world, a city that is set on a hill that cannot be hid.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

