Those Who Walk Away…

15f2305f967b75ccb55c871dc1ee1f13

There were moments in my lifetime where I’ve seen people walk away from church, return, and leave again. I never fully understood why people walked away from the church, my guess was that they didn’t like what they were hearing.

Before I get into this “touchy” subject, I want to assure you that I am not hear to force my beliefs on you in any way. What you believe is what you believe, and that’s fine with me. I’m just hoping that you’ll take a moment to hear me out for a bit, and that I’m hoping you can relate in some sort of way. Here we go.

People find many reasons to try to leave the church, I know this because I myself has been there. Whether there be conflict between  you and another church member, or the preaching has somewhat subsided for you, and so you become numb to what is being preached.

I use to think that if I could just go to another church, everything would be just fine. Here’s the thing, I didn’t have the courage to walk away from what I know is truth. Maybe you’ve walked away because while you were praying, God didn’t answer. You prayed that a loved one would get better, you prayed that the cancer would just go away, you prayed that your marriage would finally get better, you prayed that no one would notice your brokenness. In the end, you saw nothing happen, all that you prayed for felt as if it were for nothing. So you ask yourself “why pray to someone who isn’t there, someone who won’t even answer my prayers?”.

Have you ever thought that maybe God has a reason behind everything that happens in our life. Tragedies don’t happen because of God, they happen because they just do. Sometimes, the situations that we carry are out of our own control. I believe we give up to quickly, even when God doesn’t answer, I strongly believe it’s for a very good reason. I came into the church when I was 12 years old, I’m 20 almost 21, and yet I believe that God has blessed me even when I hardly knew Him.

Like I mentioned before, there were many times I wanted to walk away from the church. If I did walk away, what would I be accomplishing? Nothing. I stayed because I didn’t want to feel defeated, I didn’t want that burden knowing I walked away all because life got a little tough.

Maybe you didn’t walk away because your prayer wasn’t answered, maybe you walked away because there was a problem within the church body. Let me tell you something, if you’re able recognize that there is a problem, then God is calling you to pray on it. Walking away will prove nothing, it will solve nothing!

I’ve even witnessed young people walk away from the church, they think that they can make it on their own merit. They develop this mentality that they don’t need God anymore, and that if they try to fit in with the rest of the crowd. That they’ll be just fine. Till this day I still socialize with those who made the choice to walk, and I’ve even heard some say that they wish they didn’t walk away in the first place. I always tell people that it’s never too late to come back, and that they shouldn’t feel ashamed, scared, or even embarrassed. People come and go all the time, sometimes it takes something tragic to happen in their life to bring them back to church. No matter what you’ve done, or where you’ve been, don’t let anyone tell you that you’re not worthy of being part of the church again.

For those of you who are wondering which denomination I am, I am pentecostal. So yes, I don’t wear pants, I don’t wear makeup, I don’t have any piercings, no tattoos, and I never cut my hair. Here’s the thing, all that I mentioned was a personal choice that I made when I was 15 years old. Now, you don’t have to be perfect to attend a pentecostal church. You come as you are, that’s what God basically want’s from you. He looks at the heart and not at what you’re wearing. Another thing people ask me is how I feel about gay’s and so on, I always tell them “what they’re doing is wrong, but that’s doesn’t give me the right to tell them that, or even hate them for it”. I have friends that are gay, and they know what I believe but that doesn’t mean I can’t socialize with them, or even be their friend. I also don’t force them to believe in what I believe, if they have questions then I’ll answer to the best of my ability. Just so you know, this is only a little bit of where I come from. If you want to know more email me @ mariajohn224@gmail.com, or just leave a comment if you want me to explain more of where I come from in terms of what I believe.

In the end, no matter where you are at this very moment….God is with you. I want to think you for taking the time to read this, and just note that I’m not here to start any type of argument. I wrote this for encouragement purposes, and relation to myself. Have an awesome day, until next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

