Those Sleepless Nights

8e0d28d548588e7f6d537f0673713d89

I’ve recently shared a post on Facebook describing my struggle with not being able to sleep due to my over-thinking.

It’s in that very moment when it’s time for bed, you lie down, turn the lights off, and close your eyes. The only thing keeping you up are the thoughts that come flooding in, you toss and turn hoping to find some rest in the mess of your chaotic mind. It can be the smallest thing that keeps us up, whether it’d be paying a certain bill on time. Maybe you’re just trying to figure out how you’re going to try and get everything done for the next day. I know one of the things that used to keep me up at night were some of the situations I was facing in life, or situations that I may have to face. My over-thinking turned into a battlefield.

Why do we over-think? We know that there’s no cure for over-thinking, but we do know who to go to when all else fails. In Isaiah 55: 8-9 says….

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

We may not always understand why we over-think certain things, but to accept the fact that God knows more than what we do is pretty satisfying to me. Our sleepless nights are a factor of the things that we are scared of in life, fear can eat away at us like a disease. There’s one thing I forgot to mention, the definition for “over-thinking” is this….

To think about (something) too much for too long.

Why do we dwell on thing’sΒ that can put us into a mood where it can have a negative impact on those around us? Before going to bed, before taking that nap, talk to God about your concerns and let him know what’s going on in your life. In the beginning of this post I had mentioned sharing a post on Facebook on my struggle with not being able to sleep due to my over-thinking. It was a quote, and it stated…

Give it to God, and go to sleep.

With that said, have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

